The Music of Margaret M. O’Brien

MargaretI feel very fortunate to have met Margaret O’Brien by mere chance, when she moved to the apartment upstairs from mine.  I knew that she was a musician who enjoyed performing at the Farmer’s Market, but I had no idea of her incredible musical voice until I found her ReverbNation page.  As her neighbor, I witnessed her go through the impossible situation of being suddenly diagnosed with Stage 4 cancer, and how she met it with such incredible grace and love.  She lost her battle with cancer earlier this month, but I hope her music – her unique, thoughtful, sensitive and powerful artistry – will live on.

Margaret, you are an inspiration.  I wish I had known you longer.

Margaret M. O’Brien’s music on ReverbNation

News Gazette article: Studio Visit: Margaret O’Brien

Margaret’s Facebook page

Tributes, photographs, and messages to Margaret on Facebook

Gallery | This entry was posted in Champaign-Urbana, Musicians and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.